The following ingredients found on a label indicate the presence of milk protein:
The following ingredients found on a label indicate the presence of milk protein.
All labels should be read carefully before consuming a product, even if it has been used safely in the past.
acidophilus milk, buttermilk, buttermilk blend, buttermilk solids, cultured milk, condensed milk, dried milk, dry milk solids (DMS), evaporated milk, fat‐free milk, fully cream milk powder, goat’s milk, Lactaid® milk, lactose free milk, low fat milk, malted milk, milk derivative, milk powder, milk protein, milk solids, milk solid pastes, nonfat dry milk, nonfat milk, nonfat milk solids, pasteurized milk, powdered milk, sheep’s milk, skim milk, skim milk powder, sour milk, sour milk solids, sweet cream buttermilk powder, sweetened condensed milk, sweetened condensed skim milk,whole milk, 1% milk, 2% milk
artificial butter, artificial butter flavor, butter, butter extract, butter fat, butter flavored oil, butter solids, dairy butter, natural butter, natural butter flavor, whipped butter
Casein & Caseinates
ammonium caseinate, calcium caseinate, hydrolyzed casein, iron caseinate magnesium caseinate, potassium caseinate, sodium caseinate, zinc caseinate
heese (all types), cheese flavor (artificial and natural), cheese food, cottage cheese, cream cheese, imitation cheese, vegetarian cheeses with casein
Dairy product solids
Half & Half
casein hydrolysate, milk protein hydrolysate, protein hydrolysate, whey hydrolysate, whey protein hydrolysate Ice cream, ice milk, sherbet
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
Milk fat, anhydrous milk fat
Rennet, rennet casein
Simplesse® (fat replacer)
Sour cream, sour cream solids, imitation sour cream
acid whey, cured whey, delactosed whey, demineralized whey, hydrolyzed whey, powdered whey, reduced mineral whey, sweet dairy whey, whey, whey protein, whey protein concentrate, whey powder, whey solids
Yogurt (regular or frozen), yogurt powder
MILK IS SOMETIMES FOUND IN
High protein flour
Lactic acid (usually not a problem)
Lactic acid starter culture
“Non-dairy” products (may contain casein)
However, if the product is an FDA regulated food, the word “Milk” must appear on the label.
SHOULD BE SAFE
These milk derivatives should be safe for most individuals with milk allergy, but check with your doctor before using.